Skip to content


What is IELTS

IELTS is the International English Language Testing System, the world's most popular English language test.

It is designed to determine the level of English skills of people whose first language is not English. IELTS is the most demanded test of English for study and immigration, being taken by more than 2 million people each year.

IELTS is jointly owned by British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge English Language Assessment through more than 1,000 test centres and locations in over 140 countries.

Academic vs. General

There are two versions of IELTS: Academic and General.

  1. Certificate of Academic IELTS is used for admission to schools, colleges and universities in English-speaking countries.
  2. The certificate General Training IELTS (and sometimes Academic IELTS) is mandatory for all who wish to immigrate to or work in UK, Canada, Australia, USA, New Zealand, etc.

IELTS consists of 4 parts:

  • Listening
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Speaking

The total time of IELTS is 2 hours 45 minutes.

The listening, reading and writing parts are completed in one sitting in a common exam auditorium, while the speaking part is taken individually with an examiner on the same day or up to week before or after the other tests.

Listening and Speaking modules are the same for Academic and General Training IELTS, while Reading and Writing modules are different.

All the parts are evaluated on a scale from 0 to 9 points. The total score is counted as arithmetic mean of the four section scores.

Each IELTS score corresponds to some level of English proficiency. Bands are described as follows:

9.0Expert user
8.0Very good user
7.0Good user
6.0Competent user
5.0Modest user

IELTS Listening

  • About Listening section

IELTS Reading

  • About Reading section

IELTS Writing

  • About Writing Section

IELTS Speaking

  • About Speaking Section